Showing posts with label DEFENCE. Show all posts
Showing posts with label DEFENCE. Show all posts

Monday, April 25, 2011

Chiefs of Naval Staff

Name Tenure
Rear Admiral J.T.S. Hall 15 August 1947-14 August 1948
Admiral Sir Edward Parry 15 August 1948-13 October 1951
Admiral Sir Mark Pizey 14 October 1951-21 July 1955
Vice Admiral Sir Stephen Carlill 22 July 1955-21 April 1958
Vice Admiral R.D. Katari 22 April 1958-4 June 1962
Vice Admiral B.S. Soman 05 June 1962-3 March 1966
Admiral A.K. Chatterjee 04 March 1966-27 February 1970
Admiral S.M. Nanda 28 February 1970-28 February 1973
Admiral S.N. Kohli 01 March 1973-28 February 1976
Admiral J.L. Cursetji 01 March 1976-28 February 1979
Admiral R.L. Pereira 01 March 1979-28 February 1982
Admiral O.S. Dawson 01 March 1982-30 November 1984
Admiral R.H. Tahiliani 01 December 1984-30 November 1987
Admiral J.G. Nadkarni 01 December 1987-30 November 1990
Admiral Ramdas 01 December 1990-30 September 1993
Admiral V.S. Shekhawat 01 October 1993-30 September 1996
Admiral Vishnu Bhagwat 01 October 1996-30 December 1998
Admiral Sushil Kumar 31 December 1998 - 29 December 2001
Admiral Madhvendra Singh 29 December 2001 - 31 July 2004
Admiral Arun Prakash 01 August 2004 - 30 October 2006
Admiral Sureesh Mehta 30 October 2006 - 31 August 2009
Admiral Nirmal Verma 31 August 2009- Incumbent

Chiefs of Army Staff

Name Tenure
General Maharaj Rajendra Sinhji 01 April 1955-14 May 1955
General S.M. Srinagesh 15 May 1955-7 May 1957
General K.S. Thimayya 08 May 1957-7 May 1961
General R.N. Thapar 08 May 1961-19 November 1962
General J.N. Choudhuri 20 November 1962-7 June 1966
General P.P. Kumaramangalam 08 June 1966-7 June 1969
General S.H.F.J. Manekshaw 08 June 1969-31 December 1972
Field Marshal S.H.F.J. Manekshaw 01 January 1973-14 January 1973
General G.G. Bewoor 15 January 1973-31 May 1975
General T.N. Raina 01 June 1975-31 May 1978
General O.P. Malhotra 01 June 1978-31 May 1981
General K.V. Krishna Rao 01 June 1981-31 July 1983
General A.S. Vaidya 01 August 1983-31 January 1986
General K. Sunderji 01 February 1986-30 April 1988
General V.N. Sharma 01 May 1988-30 June 1990
General S.F. Rodrigues 01 July 1990-30 June 1993
General B.C. Joshi 01 July 1993-18 November 1994
General S. Roychowdhury 22 November 1994-30 September 1997
General V.P. Malik 01 October 1997-30 September 2000
General S. Padmanabhan 30 September 2000-31 December 2002
General J.J. Singh 01 February 2005 - 30 September 2007
General Deepak Kapoor 30 September 2007-30 March 2010
General V.K. Singh 31 March 2010 - Incumbent

Saturday, August 28, 2010

National Security Guards

The National Security Guard (NSG) is a Special Response Unit in India that is primarily utilized for counter-terrorism and anti-hijacking operations.
  • Neutralization of terrorist threats.
  • Handling hijacking situations in air and on land.
  • Bomb disposal (search, detection and neutralization of IEDs).
  • PBI (Post Blast Investigation).
  • Engaging and neutralizing terrorists in specific situations.
  • Rescue of hostages.
NSG Training Center – Manesar in Haryana NSG Head Quarters – Palam, Delhi
Sub Units:
SRG – Special Rangers Group, for protection of VIPs
SAG – Special Action Group, for anti-terrorist & anti-hijack operations
NSG Operations till now:
Operation Type
Operation Blue Star
Suppressed Sikh separatist terrorist attacks at Golden Temple.
Operation Black Thunder II
Suppressed terrorist attacks at Golden Temple.
Operation Ashwamedh
Rescued Hijacked Indian Air Lines Boeing 727
Operation Vajra-Shakti
Suppressed terrorist attacks at Akshardham temple, Ahmadabad.
Operation Black Tornado / Operation Cyclone
Suppressed 26/11 Mumbai terrorist attacks.

India's Defense System

330 T-90
The T-90 is a Russian main battle tank (MBT) derived from the T-72, and is currently the most modern tank in service with the Russian Ground Forces, Naval Infantry and the Indian Army. The customized Indian version is 310T-90S. In 2001, India bought 310 T-90S tanks from Russia, of which 120 were delivered complete, 90 in semi-knocked down kits, and 100 in completely-knocked down kits. The T-90 was selected because it is a direct development of the T-72 which India already employs, simplifying training and maintenance. India bought the T-90 after the delay in production of the domestically developed Arjun main battle tank, and to counter Pakistani deployment of the Ukrainian T-80UD in 1995–97. These tanks were made by Uralvagonzavod and the uprated 1,000-hp engines were delivered by Chelyabinsk Tractor Plant.
Recently another 330 were ordered by the army. Also the Indian Ordnance Factories Board (OFB) got order to produce another 1000. So in total the numbers would be close to 1700 by 2020.

Arjun is a main battle tank still in development by India's Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO).India's Ministry of Defence (MoD) plans to deliver the remainder of the 124 tanks to the Indian Army by 2009 India's Ministry of Defense (MOD) has also signed an agreement for the licensed production of 1,000 T-90s. With the Arjun development delayed even further , India last year signed a fresh contract with Russia to buy another 330 T-90s.

Tunguska M1 Air defence system
The 2K22 Tunguska is a Russian tracked self-propelled anti-aircraft weapon armed with a surface-to-air gun and missile system. It is designed to provide day and night protection for infantry and tank regiments against low-flying aircraft, helicopters, and cruise missiles in all weather conditions. Indian operates close to 50 of this system and further orders are placed.

BM-30 Smerch:MBRL
The BM-30 Smerch (Tornado) or 9K58 is a Soviet multiple rocket launcher. The system is designed to defeat manpower, armored and soft-skinned materiel in concentration areas, artillery batteries, command posts and ammunition depots. It was created in 1986 and entered service in the Soviet Army in 1989 the 300mm rockets with a firing range of 70 and 90 km and various warheads have been developed for the Smerch MLRS. To India 38 systems were delivered in 2008 and additional 24 systems by 2010.Total cost $750 million.

Pinaka MBRL:
Pinaka is a multiple rocket launcher produced in India and developed by the DRDO for the Indian Army. The system has a maximum range of 39-40 km, fire a salvo of 12 HE rockets in 44 seconds, neutralizing a target area of 3.9 sq. km. The system is mounted on a Tatra truck for mobility. Pinaka saw service during the Kargil War, where it was successful in neutralizing enemy positions on the mountain tops. It has since been inducted into the Indian Army in large numbers.
some features:
Range: 7 km - 40 km (4.4 - 26 mi)
Rocket Diameter: 214 mm (8.42 in)
Length: 4.95 m (16.24 ft)
Warhead weight: 100 kg (220 lbs)
Total weight: 276kg (608 lbs)